The Bard of Killarney – an Irish tune of much silliness

There once was a man
and he sang by the tree
on the road that led
down to Killarney.

And he looked to the sky
and what did he see?
He called down the birds
and they sang to me.

With a Hey! Hi!
and a merry Hi Ho!
And a ding-dee-diddle
and away we go!

“When you take to the wing
and you fly through the air,
you got no worries
and you just don’t care.

“‘Cause the sun is risin’
at the break of day,
so we’ll tweet-twee-twiddle
and we’ll fly away!”

So I looked at the man
so strange to see
and he piped on his flute
a sweet melody.

And out from the forest,
a fox did flee.
He stopped on the road
and he sang to me.

With a Hey! Hi!
and a merry Hi Ho!
And a ding-dee-diddle
and away we go!

“When they ride their horses,
take aim with their guns,
and call their doggies
so you just gotta run.

“‘Cause the hounds are tracking’
all through the day,
so I’ll zig-zag-ziggle
and I’ll run away!”

I laughed at the man
as he played by the tree,
and up on the road
a pink pig I see.

Smelling all the flowers
eating two or three,
He waddled up the road
and he sang to me.

With a Hey! Hi!
and a merry Hi Ho!
And a ding-dee-diddle
and away we go!

“When the sun is high
and you look for the shade,
and the mud lies thick
like marmalade.

“And you eat all the feed
that you get for the day,
so I’ll pig-pog-piggle
and I’ll run away!”

So I turned to the man,
who played with glee
a merry little tune
underneath the tree.

And over the meadow
a cat I see
and she crouched at my feet
and she sang to me.

With a Hey! Hi!
and a merry Hi Ho!
And a ding-dee-diddle
and away we go!

“If you brush my coat
and you comb my tail,
i’ll catch all the mice
and I will not fail.

“‘Cause a cat is silent
as she stalks her prey,
so I’ll tip-toe-tipple
and I’ll sneak away.”

So he tapped my shoulder
The man did he,
and he pointed down the road
to Killarney.

And up strolled a lass,
a sight to see,
and she held out a muffin
and she sang to me.

With a Hey! Hi!
and a merry Hi Ho!
And a ding-dee-diddle
and away we go!

“When the sun is setting
and the moon is high,
and a lady’s smiling
with a look in her eye.

“And she takes you home
at the end of the day,
so we’ll fee-fi-fiddle
and you’ll have your way.”

With a Hey! Hi!
and a merry Hi Ho!
And a ding-dee-diddle
and away we go!

©2011 James Montgomery

Now's your time to shine…

